Becoming A Father

Recently my wife used 2 pregnancy tests, both revealing they were positive.  It took a while for it to sink in that we are now a father and mother.  Yet, in a mature understanding of the creation of another human being, one would know that the parenting process begins long before a baby is ever conceived.  I personally have been on a journey with God towards knowing and raising my kids long before I was ever married.  I have had dreams of my son as well as deep impressions of a daughter.   Being married, my wife and I already named our kids before they would be manifested in the flesh.  (We think this one coming may be our son “Courage”, but we will see)  This reminds me of our Heavenly Father who knew us and called us before we were born as well.

Jeremiah 1:5  “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart…”

In becoming a Father, I have recently pondered the realties of signs.  Signs point to greater realities.  This is why God loves signs and wonders.  He loves family, life and adventure.  This is why a sign from a pregnancy test reveals such joy to those who want to be fathers and mothers.  The stick my wife peed on is sign that is now a stone of remembrance.  I probably don’t want to keep a stick my wife peed on for a keepsake, but the sign is a great remembrance of the greater reality at hand.  (She just informed me that she washed them off, so maybe we will keep them)  Signs point to a greater reality at hand and they often leave us full of wonder and excitement.

The kingdom of God has completely transformed my life.  I now have a life full of signs, wonders, miracles, prophecies fulfilled (and unfulfilled), dreams, visions, and intimacy with God that knows no limits.  The fact that I can see my son in a dream before He is born is spectacular.  To see that my wife is pregnant by a sign on a stick is incredible.  God speaking through signs consists of His endless avenues of communication. His signs are great and they always point to the reality of Jesus Christ and His love to fill all things. (Eph 1:10, 4:10)

Signs and wonders are to bring great joy to the children of God on the earth. Having them flow through your life testify of a relationship with God (John 10:38).  Jesus was endorsed by God through signs and wonders (Acts 2:22).  Signs are all around us.  In the earthly aspect, we see them on TV’s, billboards, roadways, museums, etc.  God will often use these avenues of communication to speak to those who are watching and listening for Him.  It only takes us having the time and patience to stop all other chatter in our minds and hearts, while setting up our sail for the wind of His Presence to come and show us the way.  He uses both the miraculous and the ordinary.

God has great plans for the direction of our lives.  When we understand this, we can follow the signs and the winds of His Spirit that cause us to flow with Him. We can then be fathers and mothers, not only to our children, but to the world.  We can fulfill the prophecy revealed in Malachi 4:6 of which a baby named John started to fulfill in his day. (Luke 1: 13-17)  These verses speak to me of the reality of my child coming forth to fulfill a destiny of greatness before God and man.

God is great.  He has let me in on the secrets of His heart to know and see my children before they are born.  He reveals His grace in allowing me to be a partaker of His nature that knows things before they happen.  He revealed to me the life of being a father, like Him.  He sees and sets up signs for those who will watch and listen.  We should not just see the signs, but follow them, as they shall follow us as well.  Jesus said, “signs follow those who believe.”  The greatest sign and wonder is a simply the love of God manifested through a relationship with God.  When this is stewarded, a life full of signs and wonders will follow you.

The journey of Fatherhood has begun a new cycle of growth for my family.  We continue to create conditions for the glory of God to manifest through our intentional living towards our kids and for the generations we may never see.  We continue to speak the words of heaven over our child in the womb, which brings the powerful promises of God into existence.  The joy of becoming a father has taken on a whole new level, but I have awaited the promise.  I have been prepared for this time.  I have been equipped through my relationship with God to be more like Him, who is the Perfect Father.  Now, my wife and I will continue the process of birthing that will reveal one of the greatest signs, wonders and miracles the earth has ever known.  My child.

Jeremiah 1:5  “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart.  I appointed you a prophet to the nations.”

-PH

Ending Thought

Like my Heavenly Father, I have become a father.  Without my growing in a relationship with Him, I bet my parenting would have been good, but not great, as it would have lacked the power of God.  Now that I can follow signs and they follow me, we can raise our children from a standard of life that knows no limits, God Himself.  Now we can raise our children in the way they should go, with purity and the Purpose of Heaven.

2 thoughts on “Becoming A Father

  1. Congrats to you both!!! Being a parent is a life changing experience and I love every minute of it. I wish you both the best in your pregnancy it is a great bonding and growing experience.

Leave a Reply

