10 Year High School Reunion

This morning I am happily sitting on my parents deck in my hometown of Harvey, North Dakota.  I am in town to see my old classmates as we celebrate our ten-year high school reunion today.  As former students,  I think we all continue to be students of life.  This reunion is an excellent reference point to continue pursuing the dreams of our future as we celebrate our past.  As I ponder the greatness of this moment, events like these can also bring us back to memories of our past.  I have sometimes wondered what life would have been like if I had known then, what I know now.

You may have heard the saying, “If I could go back and change things I wouldn’t change a thing.”  People will say this because their experiences have “made them who they are today”.   Whether this is said with faith or doubt is to be determined.  Of course, people can say this because their life has genuinely been a great progression from their past.

Personally, if given the option, I would do things much differently in my past.  I would have seen things differently and I would choose to be a much different person.  I feel that it would have greatly helped me for the better.  Am I a product of my past?  Partly.  But I am more a product of Jesus’ past which had transformed me into a brand new person and secured my future in Him.

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!”- 2 Cor 5:17

Am I discouraged because I wasn’t different?  Not at all.  My present is focused and my future is secured.  In fact, if we were to live in our past, whether we were ashamed or proud of it, we would fail to be truly living in the present.  We are also, always to have hope in our future.  For me, it was around 8 years ago that I was literally changed into another man, which then turned my focus to the Ever Expanding Horizons of the present and the future, forever.

 “I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what is ahead, I run straight toward the goal to win the prize of God’s heavenly call that is offered in Christ Jesus.”-Philippians 3:13-14

I am still living in this upward call today with more acceleration and promise then ever before.

Today, I am excited to see classmates and see how they are all doing in life.  I hope to enjoy their presence and encourage them in their life.  10 years removed from high school is not that long for us.  For me, it literally feels like 30+ years because of what God has done in my life.  These 10 years are a great measuring point for all of us to continue encouraging one another.  To learn.  To Love.  To Dream. 

“Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to ALL PEOPLE, especially to those who belong to the family of believers.”-Gal 6:10

In God’s eyes, ten years can be like a day, if not shorter.  We may think 10 years is a long time but in reality it is not.  People are literally changed in the twinkling of an eye when God’s Kingdom comes upon them.  It doesn’t take years.  These 10 years are a great point of reference to love each other and to encourage one another to do life well.  I am excited to live this day and encourage my classmates.  I pray 10 years from now, we will all have been further transformed by many twinklings of the eye.  This will take us beyond years and into eternity.

-PH

Leave a Reply

