As One Devil to Another (Book Review)

http://www.amazon.com/One-Devil-Another-Correspondence-Tradition/dp/1414371667/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1334153706&sr=8-1

My Overall Rating is 4 out of 5 Stars.

Richard Platt does an excellent job by writing in the spirit of C.S. Lewis.  This book was written as a correspondence between two devils and reveals their strategies and ways of thinking that try to keep humans from God or get them to fail.  The book was beautifully written in the tradition of C.S. Lewis’ book “The Screwtape Letters” and offers the reader a journey into the heart of hell.

I give Richard 5 stars in the area of writing in the manner of C.S. Lewis.  Richard’s own life was impacted by the writings of Lewis and he also developed a relationship with Walter Hooper, who is the biographer and editor of C.S. Lewis.  These connections helped Richard do a great job in writing this piece in the tradition of Lewis’ book “The Screwtape Letters.”  Walter Hooper even said, “It reads as if C.S. Lewis himself had written it.  Creative writings of this nature have the potential to help others see into the ways of the spirit realm and I look forward to other writings along this tradition set by Lewis himself.

I enjoyed this book because I enjoy C.S Lewis, but there were some parts I did not like.  I believe there are certain ideas in the book that can lead others to think wrongly of God.  I know this is by no means the intention of the author.  While I do not want this to distract from the spirit of which the book was written, I do think unsuspecting people who would read this could be confused at the nature of God.  My main point of disagreement is when the devils talk about how God gave other people sickness to teach them something.  I have come to vastly disagree with this way of thinking because you cannot find it in the life of Jesus.  Other then that, the book is a great read and gives creative insight into the minds of devils and their strategic attempts to keep people from God.

I commend Richard Platt for writing this book in the manner of C.S. Lewis and I think most Lewis fans would enjoy it as well.  I look forward to seeing other writings similar to this because they are enjoyable to read and able to teach the reader at the same time.  Thank you Lewis and Richard for paving the way!  

-PH

Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book for review purposes.

One thought on “As One Devil to Another (Book Review)

Leave a Reply

