The Overview Effect: Encounters of the Heavenly Kind

planet-earth-from-space

“Once a photograph of the Earth, taken from outside, is available, a new idea as powerful as any in history will be let loose.” – Fred Hoyle

“The Overview Effect” is covered in a brief documentary where astronauts explain their experience from space looking back at the earth.  They talk about a cognitive shift in perspective when they realize the beauty of earth as one living organism and how everything in it contributes to its life.  This perspective causes one to see the pettiness of human wars and conflicts, while expanding the desire to see mankind work together for the benefit of our home and each other.

If we can get this brilliant perspective we will further see change towards a holistic approach to life on earth and a true movement FOR mankind that is founded on Love.  This cognitive shift is none other than the mind of Christ.  It also reminds me of the famous verse:

“For God so loved the world.”

About 10 years ago I was using a book in my prayer time someone had given to me called: Open My Eyes, Lord: A Practical Guide to Angelic Visitations and Heavenly Experiences” by Gary Oates.

In the book Gary shares one of his experiences while on a Randy Clark sponsored ministry trip to Brazil in 2002.  While the testimony is better in full context, I will share what is pertinent to our post.  During worship one night, Gary had a powerful experience where he left his body to find himself looking down at everybody worshipping the Lord.  He then started shooting upwards through the tent until he was looking down at part of the city, while also seeing the tent they were meeting at glowing with the presence of God.

For those who like Scripture to back up experiences, Ezekiel 8:3 says:

“The Spirit lifted me up between earth and heaven, and brought me into visions of God.

Eventually Gary came back down into his body and looked up to see Jesus coming toward Him where he ended up having a powerful experience with Jesus.  See the book for more details.  At the end of the book Gary leads you in a powerful prayer of consecration and impartation that I would soon find out really works.

Shortly after reading Gary’s book I was reading Bill Johnson’s book called, “The Supernatural Power of a Transformed Mind.”  As I would read the book a heavy presence of God would come over me and I kept hearing God’s voice internally saying over and over:

You have to renew your mind.  You have to renew your mind.  You have to renew your mind.”

Maybe that same voice is saying the same thing to you right now?  Don’t mistake the words you just read for my own. 🙂  Continuing on.

While hearing the words to renew my mind, God’s presence grew so strong that I decided to lay down for a nap.  (Looking back I thought I was just getting tired but later realized it was an overwhelming presence similar to what Adam may have felt when he was put to sleep in Genesis 2:21)  Shortly after laying down the next thing I know is I am hovering 2 stories up outside by bedroom window looking into it.  I then began to shoot straight up in the air.  As I was shooting up into the sky I was afraid but remembered Gary’s testimony of when he was afraid in his encounter he began to descend, so I tried as best I could to ask God for strength to not be afraid.  (Fear robs us of so much!)  The next thing I know I am hovering above the earth like the picture I included with this post, only it was far more vivid.  Take a little time to imagine yourself looking at the earth from this position before you continue reading.

I was suspended in this view of between heaven and earth until suddenly I began to fall back to earth.  I remember thinking over and over as I was falling, “I’m going to die, I’m going to die, I’m going to die!”   I got about 20 feet from the ground and I begin to float like a feather for the remaining few feet to earth until I came to rest in some lush green grass. The next thing I know I woke up on my bed quite stunned at what just happened.  Read the the Ezekiel 8:3 verse again,

“The Spirit lifted me up between earth and heaven.”

I had experienced The Overview Effect and I didn’t even have to be an astronaut to see it!

So after recently viewing the Overview Effect I am impacted by this encounter more than ever.  My heart swells with Love and Possibility for our planet.  I know without a doubt that Father God, Jesus and Holy Spirit SO LOVE THIS WORLD.  They want to see us come together in unity to make it beautiful and to also enjoy where it is already beautiful.  This is God’s desire for heaven on earth and it is this perspective that Jesus teaches us to live out and pray for.

Activation:

Take time to meditate on the picture I posted above  and/or watch the short 19 minute documentary called “The Overview Effect.”  You can now see this effect without even needing to leave your body!  Ask the Spirit to take you deep into God’s heart for this planet.  Let God expand your horizons to what is possible.

Between earth and heaven we learn the perspective of leaven.  We learn the power of mankind to affect the whole.  We learn that we are participating in what lives, dies and grows in the earth.  We participate in what the earth and mankind is becoming.  We learn that our imaginary boundaries are the only thing that keep us from Reality.

Between heaven and earth we learn our worth that gives birth to the endless possibilities of Love.  Floating on this ball of land and sea we can take each other’s hand and see that we are all here together.  WE ARE ALL HERE TOGETHER!

 The God who made the world and everything in it is the Lord of heaven and earth and does not live in temples built by human hands. -Acts 17:24

Together we have to renew our minds,

-PH

View The Overview Effect Documentary Here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sKK4dAu_sFo

For more about Randy Clark and Global Awakening see www.globalawakening.com

Gary Oates Book:  http://www.amazon.com/Open-Eyes-Lord-Visitations-Experiences/dp/0975262203/ref=sr_1_sc_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1465150136&sr=8-1-spell&keywords=gary+opates

  • For those who value Scripture like I do we further see Gary’s and my  experience in 2 Corinthians 12:2-4.  In line with what Paul says, I did not know whether I was in my body or not but God knows.  Also sharing this experience has nothing to do with me being highly mature or spiritual.  It simply has to do with the grace of God showing us how big God is, what is possible and how reality works.  I was simply hungry for more of God.
Leave a Reply

